What Could Star Trek and Barbie Possibly Have in Common?

Over on The Debutante Ball, I wrote this little ode to Star Trek, not to mention Barbie. Who woulda thought that both would help me become a writer?

The Final Frontier: How Star Trek Helped Me Become a Writer

spockI was obsessed with the original Star Trek series when I was kid. I loved everything from the tacky alien creatures to Uhura’s minidress. I memorized the voiceover:

Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its five-year mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.

No need to go into gender politics here. When I was a kid, I didn’t feel left out by that “man” anyhow. I knew the voice (which seemed like the voice of god) spoke to me too. I was already leaning into my wandering self. The explorer. The adventurer. Yearning to venture out of my rundown neighborhood and away from the older bully girl who lived down the street. By the time I discovered Star Trek, I already had a vibrant inner storytelling life.

For example, I’d make Barbie and Ken … PLEASE READ ON

2 thoughts on “What Could Star Trek and Barbie Possibly Have in Common?

  1. As a misguided youth, I was at a friend’s house. His sister had about 100 Barbie dolls. She was gone and we went into her room and pulled all the heads off of the Barbie bodies. We left the heads in a pile in the middle of the room and put the bodies back in the container.

    Great post. I also loved Star Trek, Captain Kirk was a great role model for a young Barbie killer.

Leave a Reply

