Accepting Change

ghoststory1I’m feeling change right now. It’s fall, yes, and the leaves are turning and daylight savings time is about to end — this is the season for it. But, I’m talking about my life. I seem to go through long swaths of time when everything is stable … and then, boom — CHANGE. Lots of stuff at the same time. I thought I’d post photos today because I’m not in the mood to communicate much. I’d like to sit with myself and breath deep and complete tasks. That’s it. I look forward to seeing the kiddies in their cute costumes tonight. That’s about as far ahead as I want to think.

ghoststory3I took these photos last weekend at Blue River, OR, site of an annual Ghost Story Retreat. I’ve written about this before (here). We participants have become a family, and I find comfort in that. However, it’s changing, opening up and out to world, going official. It’s price will go up, it will be catered. It will be different. I didn’t like hearing that, and I still don’t, but I accept it. Just like I accept my Luna the One-Eyed Wonder Dog has melanoma and mostly likely less than a year left. Just like I accept that Mom’s dementia is worsening. Last week, with Luna sitting between us, she asked me, “Oh, do you have a dog?”

Fitting, given that today is Halloween, that death feels like a hovering presence. Changes are little deaths, but that’s not a bad thing. The natural order and best to embrace it. Plus, it means spring is on its way again. When talking human mortality, people of faith might equate that with going to heaven. I don’t know about that, but I like the idea that I don’t know. Because to me, “Who knows?” is a beacon of light.

ghoststory2

ghoststory4

6 thoughts on “Accepting Change

    1. Thanks, Susan. Even though it’s a lot of work, The Debutante Ball is helpful right now. Week to week, it’s very consistent. Plus, you guys are the bomb…or rather, the fashizzle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

