On Faking It and Other Writer’s Mind Games

Luna says, I'm mesmerizing you with my eyeball. You shall write ... No? OK, can I have another bone?
Luna says, I’m mesmerizing you with my eyeball. You shall write … No? OK, can I have another bone?

Last week on The Debutante Ball, we talked about how to get the writing done when you don’t have time, when you’re in a rut, when the whole thing feels like shite.

Honestly, sometimes it’s all I can do to fake it. It’s like that old saying, Fake it until you make it. Sometimes I have to make a game of it to psych out my brain. If I fake it for long enough, I eventually do make it back to the real writing.

So here’s the post:

On Faking It and Other Writer’s Mind Games

Every October a group of us get together to write creepy stories. Every year, it’s a blast. However, this year I wasn’t in the mood. I’d just found out that Luna the One-Eyed Wonder Dog has aggressive oral cancer, and my morale was low. Very. very. low.

I didn’t want to go, but I’d already paid to participate. When I arrived at the retreat, I promptly told everyone that I wasn’t going to write anything and that was that. I’d be the first writer in the 20+ year history of this retreat to not write something. I was OK with that.

Despite a nuclear-fueled level of resistance, I ended up PLEASE READ ON

Leave a Reply

