When Writing Fiction, What Is Suspense REALLY?

suspenseLast week was craft week on The Debutante Ball. Each of us tackled an aspect of fiction craft, from creating likeable characters to revision to my topic, suspense. I even created a visual aid! I used a pot, a bowl, several measuring cups, and a button. Curious?

In other words, did I raise a question in your head, something like, What the hell is she on about with bowls and buttons? That’s suspense in a nutshell, my friends.

And, suspense isn’t only for thrillers. Every novel must have suspense.

Suspense For Dummies, Or, Keep the Questions Coming, Baby

We all know what suspense is, right? Suspense is that thing, you know, that causes you to turn the pages because you want to know what happens next.

Uh-huh, and I’m sure you’ve heard well-meaning instructors say things like, The secret to writing a thriller (or any genre) is suspense. You’ve got to have suspense on every page.

And you’re agreeing, nodding your head and thinking, Totally makes sense. I’m going to do that. And then you sit down at your laptop, and you think, PLEASE READ ON

2 thoughts on “When Writing Fiction, What Is Suspense REALLY?

    1. Oh this is cool, J. Macon! Thanks for reaching out. I loved the Upstart Crow — I have such fond memories of it.

      As a matter of fact, I’m visiting the homeland in May for a Tam High reunion. Crazy. I’ll check out your webzine and email you!

      Cheers, Lisa

Leave a Reply

