When Life Says, Knock, Knock, Lisa

dualityI’ve been thinking about life’s duality. In the midst of darkness, there’s hope. On other other hand, in the midst of light, there are sparks of darkness.

We don’t like to think about the dark side of life, do we? We prefer to remember that there’s “light at the end of the tunnel” as the saying goes. But, think about it, if there’s light within darkness, then logic holds that there’s darkness within the light too.

So, here I am in a happy place, gearing up for KILMOON’s launch … And then last week I found out a friend died needlessly. It wasn’t her time. She died of poverty; the two main men in her life, her ex-husband and her son, let her down. The ex- because he refused to pay her what he owed her out of his military retirement pension and her son because he saddled her with his college debt.

Luna with BoneShe was under so much stress and was basically out of money so wasn’t eating much …

Then, this week my poor Luna the One-Eyed Wonder Dog started her downhill cancer cycle. She was diagnosed in October, and I paid out the toosh for cancer treatment to slow down the cancer’s progress. She’s been doing so well, but oral melanoma is aggressive, and I suspect it has spread. Her mouth tumor is back. And this morning she had a seizure. And I’m having a hard time getting her to eat. I’ve started giving her pain pills, which is its own traumatic ritual.

I’m in a crazy place with the day job plus the novel job plus about million things I need to get done before I leave for a week-long workshop that starts on Monday, March 3rd. Life is funny, isn’t it? I’m self-absorbed–trying to cope with details and tasks–but life’s not about to let me sink too far into my head.

Knock, knock, Lisa, life’s still out here. Don’t forget to live, because life’s short, it’s fleeting, and it’s unpredictable. Perhaps the purpose of the dark dot within the field of white is to rouse us from our self-involved inner worlds.

2 thoughts on “When Life Says, Knock, Knock, Lisa

  1. I wish I had some good advice on how to get through a time like this, but all I have are shallow platitudes. Treasure Luna and the memories of your friend and enjoy all that comes your way with the publication of a first book. (Like me buying the drinks at LCC)

Leave a Reply

