Gangbusters and Round Ups: A Quick Week in Review

I’m going gangbusters on my second novel. I’m finally, finally feeling momentum, some excitement, some hope. I go through a stage during the revision process where I slow way down because I can’t see how to improve the mighty crap bucket of words I’ve created. Then I start to despair and feel overwhelmed. Then maybe I hate the blasted thing.

But, somehow, plugging along in my self-pitying way, I make it out the other end to feel a renewed surge of energy. That’s where I am now. It helps to have a May 1st deadline, which is kind of random, but really not.

Check out this lovely visual replica of my novel. It helps to see each scene laid out this way. When I was writing out the Post-Its, I realized that my plot isn’t too faulty. It’s only about the last 10 scenes that need a big overhaul. That’s better than I thought!

Different colors for different point of view characters. Blue is Danny, my detective sergeant. It's his story at heart.
Different colors for different point of view characters. Blue is Danny, my detective sergeant. It’s his story at heart.

And here’s a picture from last weekend. I lurked around the Wordcrafters Conference in Eugene, OR, with my writer buddy Christina Lay. We weren’t registered, but since we had so many friends who were, we treated it like a big reunion. This picture was taken during the Introvert’s Ball (don’t you just love that?). I call it: “Trying to Round Up Writers for a Picture: Priceless.”

I'm the blurry one holding the dog (Fawn!) and a glass of wine.
I’m the blurry one holding the dog (Fawn!) and a glass of wine.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Gangbusters and Round Ups: A Quick Week in Review

  1. Was the view blurry from the inside as well? 🙂 Looks like a lot of fun. Glad to hear the book is coming along well, even if the organization shown by the post-it notes gives me the cold sweats.

    1. Hah, Larry, I’m always a little blurry on the inside! You know, I don’t know how much have the Post It notes helps me, but it feels good to see it. So that’s good. We need all the help we can get, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

