Mmm, Cookie! A Virtual Holiday Cookie Exchange

VirtualCookie-Exchange-Blog-Hop-1Big thanks to Susan Spann, author of the fabulous Shinobi mystery series, for inviting me to participate in this holiday blog hop — a virtual cookie exchange! Last week she got my inner Cookie Monster going with a gingerbread recipe.

And so, here I am, having to cheat because I don’t bake. Yeah, I know. So why did I volunteer for this blog hop, you ask? Just cuz. You know, it’s fun to participate. I thought I had a recipe for jam shortbread that my mom made each year. This was my mom’s one bonafide sweet recipe. Everything else she baked was full of wheat germ, whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white sugar … You get it. She made peanut butter cookies and oatmeal cookies. That was about it.

Sigh … Growing up, I so wished I came from a house filled with Wonder Bread sandwiches and Bisquick pancakes and Betty Crocker cookies.

Anyhow, I don’t have the jam shortbread recipe, alas. What I do have is a memory of my favorite holiday baked treat — Betty Crocker Grasshopper Bars! These are EXACTLY the kind of sweets my mom didn’t bake. Though not strictly Christmas, they are green because of the mint frosting and you can decorate them any way you’d like. Plus, looking at the recipe, I see they’re easy. (I could even make them!)

I learned about grasshopper bars from my childhood best friend, Kathy, who was and still is a kitchen goddess. Every year, she’d whip them up for her parents’ Christmas Eve party. She’d arrange a plate of them on the kiddy food table in the den while our parents drank a little too much in the formal living room, which was usually off limits to us kids. Me, I’d retreat back to the kiddy food table and pick off the grasshopper bars one by one. They just seemed so decadent. Not a speck of whole wheat or wheat germ in those suckers!

So, in honor of kids everywhere who grew up in granola households, I copy (yeah, this is where I’m cheating) the Betty Crocker Grasshopper Bar recipe straight off their website. (Here’s the link too.)

Inner Cookie Monster says "Mmm, cookie!"
Inner Cookie Monster says “Mmm, cookie!”

Betty Crocker Grasshopper Bars

Ingredients

Bars:

1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker™ double chocolate chunk cookie mix
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons water
1 egg

Frosting:

3 cups powdered sugar
1 package (3 oz) cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 tablespoons milk
1/4 teaspoon mint extract
3 to 4 drops green food color

Glaze:

1 oz unsweetened baking chocolate
1 tablespoon butter
Directions
  • 1 Heat oven to 350°F. Spray bottom of 13×9-inch pan with cooking spray.
  • 2 In large bowl, stir all Bar ingredients until soft dough forms. Press into pan; bake 15 minutes. Cool about 10 minutes.
  • 3 In large bowl, stir all Frosting ingredients until smooth. Spread over bars.
  • 4 In small microwavable bowl, microwave all Glaze ingredients on High 30 seconds; stir until smooth. Drizzle over frosting. Refrigerate 30 minutes or until set. For bars, cut into 9 rows by 4 rows. Store covered in refrigerator.

And if YOU have a great cookie recipe, TAG! You’re it too! (Come back and link your cookie post in the comments here, and I’ll add you into this post.)

5 thoughts on “Mmm, Cookie! A Virtual Holiday Cookie Exchange

  1. Hey! Thanks for the kind words about my baking and the fond memories of our Christmas Eve parties! I actually have some Grasshopper Bars in my fridge right now. Teaching my kids early about their yumminess. My husband, however, doesn’t like chocolate and mint together – go figure. My recipe, however, is a bit different from that Betty Crocker one. No cookie mix in the bars – they are all from scratch with the chocolate coming from Nestle Quik, and no cream cheese in the frosting (although that sounds good!). Glaze is the same. Still my favorite holiday treat. Oh, but my mom put wheat germ in our chocolate chip cookies too….I still do.

    1. Hey, Kath! Aah, I took a guess at where the recipe came from — but still Grasshopper Bars! I loved them. Your recipe sounds great with Nestle Quik — I wonder what they would taste like made from Ghiradelli chocolate? Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

